What time period was the Mycenaean empire?

What time period was the Mycenaean empire?

Mycenaean is the term applied to the art and culture of Greece from ca. 1600 to 1100 B.C. The name derives from the site of Mycenae in the Peloponnesos, where once stood a great Mycenaean fortified palace. Mycenae is celebrated by Homer as the seat of King Agamemnon, who led the Greeks in the Trojan War.

When was the Minoan period?

Minoan civilization, Bronze Age civilization of Crete that flourished from about 3000 bce to about 1100 bce.

What do archeologists call the first period of ancient Greece?

The civilization that is often referred to as "Ancient Greece" began around 800 BC. The first part of this period is called the Greek Archaic Period. During this time, many Greek city-states began to form and gain power. Early Greek culture began to take shape including the development of Greek philosophy and theater.

What are the 4 periods of ancient Greece?

The art of ancient Greece is usually divided stylistically into four periods: the Geometric, Archaic, Classical, and Hellenistic. The Geometric age is usually dated from about 1000 BC, although in reality little is known about art in Greece during the preceding 200 years, traditionally known as the Greek Dark Ages.

What are the key time periods in Greek history?

Learn the Time Periods of Ancient Greece

  • Neolithic Period (6000-2900 BC) ...
  • Early Bronze Age (2900 – 2000 BC) ...
  • Minoan Age (2000-1400 BC) ...
  • Mycenaean Age (1100 – 600 BC) ...
  • The Dark Ages (1100 – 750 BC) ...
  • Archaic Period (750 – 500 BC) ...
  • Classical Period (500 – 336 BC) ...
  • Hellenistic Period (336 – 146 BC)

What time period was ancient Greece?

The term Ancient, or Archaic, Greece refers to the years 700-480 B.C., not the Classical Age (480-323 B.C.) known for its art, architecture and philosophy.

What are the five eras of early Greek history?

History in 3 acts: a brief introduction to Ancient Greece [...

  • The Archaic Period (750– 480 BCE)
  • The Classical Period (479– 323 BCE)
  • The Hellenistic Period (323– 30 BCE)

What are the 3 major periods of ancient Greece?

The history of Ancient Greece can be divided up into different periods. The three main periods we will cover here are the Archaic Period, the Classical Period, and the Hellenistic Period.

What are the three periods of ancient Greek history?

The history of ancient Greek literature may be divided into three periods: Archaic (to the end of the 6th century bc); Classical (5th and 4th centuries bc); and Hellenistic and Greco-Roman (3rd century bc onward).

What were the three main periods within Iron Age Greece?

The Attic Geometric pottery production is divided into three periods: early (EG Ι: 900–875, EG ΙΙ: 875–850 BCE.), middle (MG Ι: 850–800, MG ΙΙ: 800–760 BCE), and late (LG I: 760–735, LG ΙΙ: 735–700 BCE).

When was the Iron Age period?

500 BC – 332 BC

Which came first Bronze or Iron Age?

The Iron Age was a period in human history that started between 1200 B.C. and 600 B.C., depending on the region, and followed the Stone Age and Bronze Age. During the Iron Age, people across much of Europe, Asia and parts of Africa began making tools and weapons from iron and steel.