What is the difference between pedagogy and teaching?

What is the difference between pedagogy and teaching?

The definition of pedagogy refers to how we teach—the theory and practice of educating. Curriculum refers to the material being taught. Pedagogy is the relationship between learning techniques and culture. It is determined based on an educator's beliefs about how learning takes place.

What is pedagogy of teaching?

Pedagogy is a term that refers to the method of how teachers teach, in theory and in practice. Pedagogy is formed by an educator's teaching beliefs and concerns the interplay between culture and different ways to learn. ... Pedagogy refers to the study of teaching approaches and how they affect learners.

What are the 8 pedagogical practices?

What are the eight practices of the EYLF?

  • Adopting holistic approaches.
  • Being responsive to children.
  • Planning and implementing learning through play.
  • Intentional teaching.
  • Creating physical and social learning environments that have a positive impact on children's learning.

What are EYLF principles?

The EYLF is centred on children's learning and consists of three main elements, all of which are inter-related: Principles, Practice and Learning Outcomes. All three of these elements are important to curriculum decision making and how professional childhood educators help children learn and develop.

What are relevant pedagogical principles?

5 Principles for Effective Pedagogy

  • Inclusion.
  • Motivation.
  • Quality Assurance.
  • Consistency & Transparency.
  • Innovative Approaches.

What are the four principles of pedagogy?

The key pedagogical principles focused on teaching‐learning arrangements and methods, relationship to pupils and learning environment, general educational principles, and expected skills and attitudes.

What are the six principles of pedagogy?

This new teaching is a synthesis of effective curriculum, big ideas, nurturing relationships, differentiated instruction, appropriate assessment, teaching to standards, use of technology, and solid understanding of the content being taught.

What are the 3 central aspects of early childhood pedagogy?

The Framework puts children's learning at the core and comprises three inter-related elements: Principles, Practice and Learning Outcomes (see Figure 1). All three elements are fundamental to early childhood pedagogy and curriculum decision-making.

What are the 7 national quality standards?

The seven quality areas covered by the National Quality Standard are:

  • QA 1 - Educational program and practice.
  • QA 2 - Children's health and safety.
  • QA 3 - Physical environment.
  • QA 4 - Staffing arrangements.
  • QA 5 - Relationships with children.
  • QA 6 - Collaborative partnerships with families and communities.

How do you promote being belonging and becoming?

Strategies to include Belonging:

  1. Being respectful and accepting of diversity.
  2. Showing mutual respect.
  3. Have knowledge of families within the centre.
  4. Provide positive and caring relationships.
  5. Engage and interact with children.
  6. Making families feel welcomed.
  7. Appreciating children for their individuality.

What is EYLF and NQS?

NQF: National Quality Framework. NQS: National Quality Standard. EYLF: Early Year Learning Framework (one of the 'National Learning Framework')

What are the 5 components of the NQF?

Requires the service to use and document an approved learning framework and develop an educational program.

  • Quality Area 2: Children's health and safety.
  • Quality Area 3: Physical environment.
  • Quality Area 4: Staffing arrangements.
  • Quality Area 5: Relationships with children.

What are the 2 functions of the EYLF?

The Early Years Learning Framework allows childcare professional and educators within the early childhood setting with the use of foundation of principles, practices and learning outcomes to assist them in designing a curriculum and to provide opportunities to engage children actively in learning, choose appropriate ...

What is the purpose of EYLF?

The Early Years Learning Framework enables childcare professionals, educators and early childhood teachers within an early childhood setting to extend and enrich children's learning, provide opportunities for children to develop a foundation for learning and for children to become successful learners.

What are the 7 quality areas?

  • EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM AND PRACTICE. Your child is supported to participate in play and learning.

What is the aim of EYLF outcome 2?

Learning Outcome 2: Children are connected with and contribute to their world. 2.

What are the levels of learning outcomes?

Constructing Learning Outcomes Levels of performance for Bloom's cognitive domain include knowledge, comprehension, application, analysis, synthesis, and evaluation. These categories are arranged in ascending order of cognitive complexity where evaluation represents the highest level.

What are the 4 levels of learning outcomes?

The four levels are Reaction, Learning, Behavior, and Results.

What are the three levels of learning outcomes?

These three domains represent the areas of knowledge, skill, and attitudes that are the basis for writing learning outcomes. All learning outcomes represent learning or skill and attitude development in these areas.

What are the 5 cognitive domains?

Cognitive Domain

  • Knowledge.
  • Comprehension.
  • Application.
  • Analysis.
  • Synthesis.
  • Evaluation.